top of page

The emergence

The Aircrew Forever Foundation was founded and realized the route. The unveiling of the first pile was on April 29, 2011 and was done by Messrs Gerrit Zwanenburg (former salvage officer), Rutger Kuiper (former Rijksdienst IJsselmeerpolders and as such involved in the clearance of the first aircraft wrecks) and one of the longest coming in Dronten Airgunners, Ron Powers. Memorial pole #1 was therefore the first of a total of 16 poles, which were placed in 2011 by the Stichting 4 mei Herdenking Dronten.

Based on new insights, the route will be updated in 2021 in collaboration with the Municipality of Dronten. A number of posts were moved, removed or newly installed. New information about the aircraft and crew in question has been added. The route now consists of 19 poles. The route map shows an overview of all memorial posts in Eastern Flevoland.

bottom of page