top of page

Swimming Competition Airgunnerstrofee

Today the swimming association "De ZuiderZeeZwemmers" organized the annual swimming competition for the Airgunnerstrophy. All students of group 8 from the region were allowed to participate. The competition took place in the Aat de Jonge Zwembad in Dronten and started at 13:30. All official duties for the competition were fulfilled by enthusiastic youth swimmers and volunteers of the Dronten swimming club.

Swimming Competition Airgunnerstrofee

The program included individual races and a school team relay. (space to describe winners individually). Elementary school De Flevosprong was this year's winner of the relay race. In both the 25 meter breaststroke and the 25 meter freestyle, the results were as follows: 1. Ylène Zondervan, 2. Ruben de Waardt, 3. Yarnick Jungeling.

The winning school will be engraved with its name in the trophy of the Airgunners. This will be on display afterwards in the Airgunners room. The swimming competition was swum for the first time in 1981. A group of Airgunners who visited Dronten annually came up with the idea to make a shield available for a sporting event for elementary school students. From this the annual swimming competition was born. Whenever possible, Airgunners were present at the competition to present the prize. In 1993, five of them ventured out on their own and swam the 25-meter freestyle to loud applause.

bottom of page